The university’s campaign for donations and relief good for victims of typhoon Yolanda is spearheaded by the University Outreach and the CPU Republic.
Donations in Kind:
1. University Outreach Center at ground floor of the Franklin Hall
2. CPU Scale Model gazebo
Cash Donations:
Bank of Philippine Island Main ( Solis St. Iloilo City)
(Swift Code – BOPIPHMM) ROUTING No. BRFTN 0800-400-80
PESO Savings Acct No. 9245-8137-48
DOLLAR Savings Acct No. 9244-000131
Let us keep praying for our brothers and sisters who were affected. Thank you and
God bless you.
  • Welcome to Central Philippine University!

    About Us

    Brief History

    CENTRAL PHILIPPINE UNIVERSITY is a non-stock, non-profit Christian Institution of higher learning, where a well-rounded program of education is offered under influences that strengthen faith and build up character.

    It was founded in 1905 as the Jaro Industrial School by missionaries of the American Baptist Foreign Mission Society. It started as an Elementary Vocational School for poor boys who worked for their board and tuition. Perhaps it was the first school in the Philippines to teach that labor is honor. The school also had the distinction of having organized the first student government in the country - the Jaro Industrial School Republic, and one of the oldest student newspapers - the Central Echo.





    Second Semester 1926-1927

    Rev. S.S. Feldmann

    Prof. Clyde E. Heflin

    Second Semester 1940-1941


    Atty. Jesus Y. Perez

    April 1946
    May 1946

    Dean Alfredo Gonzalez

    Chaplain Paul J. Christensen

    April 1947
    (College High School)
    (College Upper Division)

    Rev. Harold H. Kuhlman


    Hon. Tomas V. Vargas
    Mr. Pedro Ruiz
    Dr. Henry S. Waters

    April 1948
    (Normal Training Dept.)

    Henry Little Jr., D.D.


    Miss May A. Coggins
    Hon. Manuel V. Gallego

    April 1949
    (Normal Training Dept.)

    Dr. Alfredo P. Catedral

    Mrs. J. Morris Forbes
    Dr. Clyde Everette Heflin

    April 1950
    (Normal Training Dept.)
    (High School)
    (College Upper & Lower Divisions)

    Dr. Angel Espina


    Mrs. Wanda Kelley
    Atty. Vicente Remitio

    Senator Camilo Osias

    April 1951
    (Normal Training Dept.)
    (High School)
    (College Upper & Lower Divisions)

    Dr. Henry W. Mack


    Dr. Linnea Nelson
    Mr. Jose V. Aguilar

    Senator Carlos P. Garcia